These days in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved?

The number of people who aim to choose to teach in a secondary school as their career is certainly declining in the current era. This essay will discuss the potential reasons for such drop followed by the solutions to tackle this problem. To begin with,the amount of mental stress involved in teaching secondary students discourage people to opt for this job. This is because the people who opt for this career are not too young which is why their stress tolerance level is low. As a result, handling stress becomes challenging for them since educating teenagers involves not only providing lectures but also conducting examinations, setting up question papers, evaluate the examination sheets and indulge in day to day student-specific challenges. In addition, their remuneration is not enough while looking at the amount of handwork and anxiety involved in choosing to teach grown-up students. This is because their pay scale has always been kept low which has not been revised considering it to be one of the easiest jobs which highly demotivates current generation people who find other career options with better pay scale. If we talk about the solutions to the above concerns, stress -related sessions must be scheduled for experienced teachers. By attending such sessions their daily mental stress would decline significantly. In addition, separate teachers must be hired by the school to conduct examinations and extra student-specific activities. As a result, the work burden would be divided and this job would become stress -free. In addition, the payscale of secondary teachers must be raised which will certainly attract many people to opt for this career field. Therefore, the problem could certainly be catered by taking necessary steps to reduce stress and work pressure and the remuneration can be escalated to attract many to become a secondary student teacher. Conclusively, although becoming a lecturer of secondary school is a tough and stressful job with unsatisfying wage rates, respective measures can certainly be taken by the school authority to minimize stress and work burden and the average salary of secondary school tutor can be increased to divert many individuals towards this career options in the present world.