Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree.

It is true that there are plenty of diseases such as diabetes caused by the over intake of sugar in produced food and beverage, so some people suggest increasing the selling expense of these products to limit the desire of consumption. From my point of view, I agree with this statement and I will explain my opinion with examples in this essay. First and foremost, increasing the expenses of commodities is an efficient method to guide consumers to choose other alternatives. For instance, it is common that the government charges high taxes to increase the cost of the imported items, which effectively protects the domestic manufactured commodities. This is working in the same way on sugar-contained food and drinks. With the higher cost of sugary food and beverage, customers will shift their consumption habits to other types of produced ingredients without sugar or fresh fruit and vegetables, and this will lead to a better diet for human beings. Additionally, even though it is obvious that the sales figure of sugar-contained production is going to decrease if the selling price increased, it does not mean the total profit would dramatically reduce. This is because there is fixed demand for sugary products which maintains a reasonable profit for manufacturers while the price is growing. Meanwhile, while the sweets are more expensive, producers will definitely create other types of delicious snacks and drinks to fulfil their customers. Therefore, it does not need to be worried about the survival of sugar-related industries. In conclusion, no matter from the perspective of consumers or producers, charging more on products is an advantageous method to prevent people intake too many sweets, and it will not harm the benefits of manufacturers