Some people think the government should establish free libraries in each town. Others believe that it is a waste of money since people can access the Internet to obtain information. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A growing number of people are becoming aware of the conveniences of technological advances, especially with the advent of computers. There are some people who argue that investing in public libraries is no longer necessary due to the free access to abundant information online, while others believe that public libraries in every town should be subsidized by the state. There are obvious logical loopholes in both views. First of all, it is unrealistic and unnecessary to invest in public libraries in every village. This is so because some towns are still relatively underprivileged and backward,by which I mean the government should give priority to subsidize and formulate policies to facilitate local people to solve bread-and-butter issues and construct major infrastructures, such as roads systems,hospitals and schools, so as to directly enhance people's living standards. Besides, what we have to admit is that the general education level of habitats in villages and towns, for example in China, is generally low, and even part of them are illiterate, so the construction of libraries is of little significance to local farmers. However, although we can obtain information on the Internet, it does not mean that investing in public libraries is a waste, as public libraries have many other crucial functions. For example, investing in public libraries is the need to preserve human cultural heritage. Because of the library, the experience, culture and knowledge gained from human social practice can be systematically handed down, and become the precious cultural heritage and spiritual wealth of today's mankind. Meanwhile, as a cultural and educational institution, the library today also provides another function for the people -recreational value. The service provided by the library meets the social needs for cultural entertainment, enriches and enlivens the cultural life of the people, and plays an indispensable role in the construction of spiritual civilization. Therefore, whether a city's culture is profound or not can be largely reflected by the construction of the city's library. In conclusion, it seems to me that investment in public libraries is necessary, even in the era of information explosion. However, the investment should consider the specific situation, but there is no need to invest in all villages and towns.