Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and, as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

It's a well-known fact that correct marketing leads to vast customer reach and awareness. Big firms have always been better at this game than small scale regional businesses. This situation can lead to a number of issues; such as the monopoly of a handful of brands and the death of local industries. However, there are a few steps that can be adapted to address these problems and motivate people to buy locally. Corporate giants rapidly seize opportunities from small contenders and have total or near-total control of a market. The large corporations have mammoth budgets and huge fund allocations for their product marketing and media teams, whereas local trades are usually family-owned or operated by individuals, which normally have limited resources to invest in expensive advertisements. The more people are familiar with a product, the deeper is their trust and willingness to purchase them. Therefore, small retailers would lose their customers to bigger players, which, consequently, will omit all rivals of the leading businesses in that territory to create a brand monopoly. For instance, Zara, which is a multi-national clothing brand, has successfully become a market leader and other small enterprises in some countries have failed to compete against it. Furthermore, the slowdown in business may result in disability to pay back the loans and debts for these small scale owners, and, eventually, a complete shutdown of operations. Oftentimes these owners are bound to sell their assets to bigger companies, hence, these big sharks keep expanding at the expense of the local crafts and industries being slowly wipeout of the area. It can be clearly seen from the absence of the handloom industry which took a beat down from the factory cloth manufacturers and nowadays only exists in history museums. Nonetheless, not all is lost and there are few measures such as social media awareness that can bring customers back to these local outlets. As social media platforms are a huge part of modern-day life which makes them perfect for marketing activities. Thus, digital presence is critical to surviving. Likewise, the promotions sent out to the local population could possibly generate enhanced interest to buy local goods and services as people generally are sympathetic towards their neighbourhood ventures. They can help in demonstrating how the regional stores create employment for the area and value local demand and diversity, which pushes them to develop suitable products and services for all at affordable prices. In conclusion, in spite of many challenges to the existence of small businesses, there are ways to keep getting traction in order to combat the hurdles created by heavily funded marketing campaigns of industry giants.