Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, pedagogical research is concerned with the amount of time spent teaching traditional subjects in schools. Whereas students spend most of their time learning history, it is argued that the school curriculum should focus more on employment skills to prepare students for the future labour market. However, I disagree with this argument because I believe that both history and skills share the same importance to help graduates find a job. In this essay, I will discuss why I believe that time should be split between subjects and skills. History and other common subjects are paramount for the pupils’ mental and psychological development. Since children begin to perceive the world in their school years, it is necessary to provide such learners with common knowledge of their world. They should study geography, for example, to comprehend their location between other communities in a world that is ruled by globalization. Moreover, it is important for youngsters to have a historical background that deters any sense of alienation and insecurity. Studying history supports the sense of belonging and strong identity in youth, who are obliged to face a multiethnic world. Thus, studying traditional subjects is pivotal to the mental and psychological health of future generations. On the other contrary, if life and labour skills lose their importance in the school curriculum, children will encounter issues of unemployment or failure to keep a job. That is why it is crucial to teach soft and computing skills to children. Finland’s education, for instance, has succeeded to be the best in the world due to its focus on teaching communication and computational basics as well as given the time for learners to self-learn traditional subjects. Such mental and social skills assist graduates to not only find a secure job with a good salary but also to keep a healthy social environment at workplaces. Therefore, it is important to spend time at schools to prepare children for their future jobs. In conclusion, in my opinion, the school curriculum should give equal time to traditional subjects and skills that could help graduate learners find their suitable careers. Consequently, governments should focus on providing historical knowledge and soft skills to their future generations since school years to overcome the increasing international rates of unemployment.