Some believe that the Olympic games help bring people from different nations together, while others claim that holding the Olympics wastes money which could be used for important issues. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Sports events such as the Olympic games are often considered by most people as an essential agenda to build international networking with other countries. Diametrically opposed to this, some opine that this activity will never generate any benefit thus it is preferable for governments to use their national budget for other major setbacks. In my view, however, a type of mega-event like the Olympic play has numerous positive impacts, for the following reasons. First and foremost, international relations experts are concerned that maintaining a good relationship with other nations through participating in global events is highly recommended. This strategy is very important to be applied as every single country should collaborate with other parties in order to fulfil their needs. For example, Indonesia has the opportunity to welcome a multitude of athletes and spectators from other Asian countries as they had been chosen as the host of the Asian Games in 2018. During the event, Indonesia not only broadened their chance to maintain their relationship with other nations, especially from Asia but also used this golden moment to promote a myriad of Indonesian tourism destinations and attract more tourists both from domestic and international to enjoy the local tourism spots. Therefore, Indonesia has obtained additional economic benefits from the Asian Games that can be used to support the development of other primary sectors. Despite setbacks, some of the general public claims that it is better for the cabinet members to spend their executive budget on several urgent issues such as climate change, education, or health, rather than waste their money on the secondary sector like sport. Although this type of global scale agenda has the possibility to increase national branding, many essential problems need to be addressed soon. For instance, most countries that participated in the Tokyo Olympics last month spent more than one billion dollars per fortnight to support their athletes, while their own society was struggling to combat the Covid-19 outbreak during the period. In addition, a number of wildfires happened in the South-East Europe regions due to the surge of climate change effects. Hence, using the money to tackle those immediate problems is more crucial rather than concern on other non-essential aspects. To conclude then, even though focusing the executive budget on national issues is recommended by many people, the execution of the Olympics business is actually also essential. Because it provides benefits to the country, particularly in terms of international relations and economic perspective. Thus, the more global agendas are planned and hosted by a nation, the greater the amount of money they will acquire to assist other essential problems in the country.