Some people believe that university education should focus on the skills of employment for the future. Others think university education should focus on academic study only. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Employers are always lamenting  the unfortunate gap between what students have learnt in university and what they are expected to know in order to be job-ready, which has set many people thinking: what on earth should these students learn in school, academic knowledge or job skills? A populace  with extensive academic background is pivotal  in today’s world. After months or years of work with experiments and sets of data, these young students may be able to contribute incremental knowledge  on a question that is plaguing  people, advancing knowledge in a particular field like math, astronomy, or politics. This is the very reason why governments and scholars set up universities in the first place: to accumulate young intellectuals, test hypotheses through academic research, and then apply the outcomes. For this, it is not difficult to understand the view of some people that tertiary education should prepare these young adults for academic studies. However, there is a difference between what universities are expecting in students and what recruiters are looking for. To those employers, the value added from a university degree substantially decreases as they sometimes think a reliance on the academic studies has robbed  the young of soft skills. To confound  these sceptics, faculty should also attach great importance to critical skills of employment in teaching, equipping the young adults with problem-solving, collaboration, learnability, to name but a few. Such skills, to robots, are hard to emulate, thus adding value to the young candidates and enabling them to impress employers more. In conclusion, university graduates are expected to be rigorous as they were doing academic studies and, pragmatically speaking, secure a high-paying job at the same time. These are likely a result of the focus on both academic studies and soft skills of employment. Academic-study teaching solely, clearly, is far from enough.