Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a universal truth that humans and their living environments are inextricably linked. Many argue that the state should be in charge of protecting the environment as individuals’ actions do not have considerable effects on it. This essay would partly agree with this thinking for the reasons provided below. On the one hand, it is indisputable that politicians should go to great lengths to eradicate factors that are deteriorating the environment. They can enact stricter environmental laws and provide punishment for lawbreakers. This acts as a deterrent, meaning that they could avoid people doing illegal activities that could damage the environment. A stand-out example for this practice can be seen in Vietnam. The government has decided to provide a fine of one million VND for those who cut down trees illegally, and as a result deforestation is halted in this country. Nevertheless, it would be misguided to undervalue individuals’ endeavors to protect the environment. On the individual level, citizens can contribute to diminishing the impacts of pollution by planting more green trees surrounding their living environment, saving electricity and reducing waste. For instance, a lot of families are now using energy-efficient light bulbs instead of incandescent ones as this new generation of light bulbs requires less energy to power. While many contend that these above actions are minor and they have no impact upon the environment, I opine that these are still valid if they were implemented properly and on a collective level. In conclusion, I do agree that politicians should be responsible for protecting the environment. However, I think that individuals can also take concrete steps to address environmental issues and save the earth.