Children and teenagers are committing more crimes than before. What do you think are the causes? How should they be punished?

Crimes, such as shoplifting and vandalism, committed by young children and teenagers have been on the rise. I believe that poor parenting and negative media influence are probably responsible for this. Today, with the rising cost of living, both parents have to work full time to provide a high quality of life. This means that less time is spent with their children and less attention is paid to guiding their behaviour. If minor mistakes are not spotted and corrected in the first time, then they are very likely to escalate into more serious wrongdoings. For example, children who succeeded in stealing from parents may consider it natural to shoplift in local Sainsbury or Tesco. In addition to the lack of sufficient parental guide, increasing inappropriate content in modern media is also to blame for the rise in juvenile crime. Any child who has a smartphone with internet connection can access very bad websites containing swearing, encouraging vandalism, and providing gambling sites. With an instinctive desire to imitate what they see and hear, young people exposed to the evil words and actions are highly likely to get involved in crimes. There is no doubt that underage criminals must be subjected to punishment, but how they should be punished depends on the severity of their crimes. On the one hand, teenagers who committed minor offences deserve a less strict penalty, such as serving in local community. In this way, they are allowed to escape from having a criminal record which may be damaging to their future life and career. On the other hand, those who committed violent attack or murder should be locked up in prison in case that they may cause harm to the community again. In conclusion, regardless of the reason for committing crime, anyone who breaks the law must be penalized, but there should not be fixed punishment.