Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some young people prefer to persuade academic study at the university than follow a vocational training course. In my opinion, I totally agree that more people should follow vocational training courses because there is a lack of skilled labour. There are some reasons why qualified workers are vital over the world. Firstly, they are necessary when people construct new buildings, renovate or simply maintain existing buildings. In many countries, a permanent staff is employed in schools and hospitals, ensuring the safety of all people in a building. Secondly, in some developed countries, there is an existing imbalance in the economy, resulting in graduate unemployment, while at the same time there is a shortage of skilled workers. Thus, governments should work with employers to ensure that extra vocational courses are provided and allocate more resources to open new courses. Therefore, more people should be encouraged to attend vocational training courses. The most important thing is that schools should incorporate relevant subjects into their curriculum, which do not place all emphasize on preparation for academic studies at university. For example, workshops should put the physics theory into practice. And, students who are not academically inclined should not be considered as a failure. Another thing is that parents should help their children to choose career, explaining the job prospects and the remuneration for manual jobs with qualifications and skills. In conclusion, although I agree that it is vital for students to study in the university, without such labour workers, society can not function properly.