Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Everyone has there own opinion when we dissucss about learning something new and especially when its about a foreign language, may people learn new language when there is a need of outside country travel or to work with different country. I beleive its not limited to travel or work but learning some new language is way beyond that.Learning new language give you the confidence of communicating with native speaker of that language and you dont feel left-off in meetings. Many people learn new language when there is absolute need for them, that is when they need to travel abroad or need to communicate with some one in foregin language,and this has become a trend nowadays. This is because of the fast placed lives and easily available translators like google translator people dont feel a need to learn something new unless it is a necessity. This statement was drawn from the recent poll done on facebook regarding learning new language while travelling vs learning for knowledge, people were more tent towards the first. As per my opinion learning a new language will help in growing as a person, so it should not be resticted when there is an absolute need. I believe people should consider learning new language in their high school when there is an option to choose an elective language.It also help is knowing the emotions of the person which translators cannot do.To illustrate this fact, in the recent survey conducted by Language Academy 75% of the people are learning new language for their personal growth. So to conclude this essay,learning can only benefit so as human being to grow in life you should always try to learn something new,and what could be better thing that language. So irrespective of your future needs, learning a language in present can definately help in future.