Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Companies may occasionally require applicants to provide them with their personal statistics, like their marital status and their leisure time activities. While many think this information can be used for employment purposes, I believe that employers should generally avoid putting questions on job seekers on the basis of personal situations. On the one hand, opponents including myself, argue that employers must act according to professional criteria when hiring new staff. For example, traits such as personal skills, level of education and job-related experience must be prioritized over the personal circumstances of the applicants. Furthermore, they also think that collecting and holding personal info exposes them to a number of threats, like being stolen or being subject to fraudulent activities. On the other hand, proponents feel if a company is able to obtain these data, it would be beneficial as it will have access to more details that can be used to effectively assess the job applications. moreover, they express that possessing extra data about employees can help the company to adopt its policies in accordance with workers interests and thereby increase their self-esteem and levels of productivity. For instance, if the majority of workers have demonstrated that they tend to do regular exercise, using this data the company can purchase gym equipment or can arrange other collective sports such as Football. In conclusion, I am convinced that the drawbacks outweigh the potential benefits and therefore individuals should not put these questions on applicants in a job interview. Alternatively, they can be assessed on the basis of professional characteristics such as organizational and communication skills, leadership, and time management.