Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution, and airport construction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations. Some people say that government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

Over the recent years, travelling by aeroplane has dramatically increased thereby, posing more threat to the environment. This happened in response to low costs on aeroplane tickets and reduced travel time. Although some people believe that increased taxation on airlines will result in a reduced number of air traffic, I do not agree with this notion. The following paragraphs will highlight my opinion along with relevant examples. Increased aeroplane taxation will have grievous consequences for the economy of countries that depend on tourism. More specifically, increased taxation will result in more expensive aeroplane tickets. Consequently, this may limit many people from travelling by air. And the destination countries may suffer from financial loss. For instance, holidays in Turkey and Egypt are incredibly popular among the population of Uzbekistan. The main reason that makes the holidays in the aforementioned countries affordable are low airfares. Higher airfares will only affect lower-income families, which would be unfair and lead to increased stigma. Additionally, some travels are possible only by air. Since in todays' society people it is normal to relocate to another country and work, expensive aeroplane tickets would deter their loved ones from coming and meeting them in person. Rather than increasing airways taxation, governments can invest in developing other means of long-distance transportation, for example, overnight trains and sleeper busses. To conclude, there is no doubt that air flights detrimentally affect the environment; however, solving this issue by increasing tax will lead to other problems. Therefore, I believe that governments should find other ways to tackle this issue.