Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’ How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

It is an irrefutable fact that the number of cars on the roads is dramatically increasing. Many reasons are contributing to this phenomenon including more affordable prices and inconvenient public transport. The following paragraphs will describe the current traffic congestion issues and suggest remedial solutions. To commence, several decades ago, only wealthy families could afford to own vehicles. However, nowadays, almost every family has at least one car. This is happening in response to the affordable prices and convenience that car ownership provides. For instance, even in developed countries busses are overcrowded and unreliable; therefore, people prefer driving their own vehicles or taking a taxi to their destinations. The recent increased number of traffic is already having grievous consequences on air quality and global issues such as global warming, natural resources depletion. In terms of solutions, I believe that governments are largely responsible. First and foremost, strict rules should be imposed. Take, for example, an average family in the US. One family of three or four members has two cars. The government can limit the number of cars that a family can have based on the number of its members. Secondly, the government should fund and develop public transports such as busses, subway trains. As more convenient, clean busses with air conditioning facilities can deter people from driving their own cars. Similarly, public transport should be flexible, reliable and cater for more destinations. To conclude, if special measures are not taken to decrease the traffic, this problem will only escalate. I believe that governments have a critical role to play to ensure that more people select public transport as their preferred means of transportation.