Some people think that the government is responsible for looking after the elderly. Others believe that it should be family members. Who do you think should take responsibility?

A common belief among the population is that local governments should care for the elderly, while others disagree, claiming that the family should be taken accountable for their responsibility. This essay will discuss that although relatives should feel responsible for their beloved ones, the state needs to offer principal care to their citizens in their late years. When people get old and start losing their ability to live independently, they often rely on their family members. This is as simple as humane when it comes to relatives: taking good care of our beloved ones should be a natural impulse that everyone ought to express. The elderly who requires special attention today was the same person who looked after the younger family members in the past. For these reasons, families are considered accountable for the elderly support and custody, as they represent the most comfortable and familiar environment for older people to live in. Conversely, the government is accountable for every resident's wellness, mindless of age or social condition. Since many families cannot care financially for their elderly, they require special services and infrastructures to provide the necessary amenities. For example, nursing homes, rest facilities, social workers, and assistants work to provide them with the best care and answer their needs efficiently. To conclude, people argue whether elderlies should count on their families to take care of them or have to rely on the government's care. In my opinion, family members should be the first source of care for their older relatives as the same blood binds them. However, when they cannot meet the needs of the elderly sufficiently, the local authority should take action to help them live their last years on the earth in a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere.