Some people argue that government should make laws regarding people's nutrition and food choices to improve public health while others Contend that this is the freedom of personal choice and responsibility. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The issue of whether government must formulate policies with regards to what people eat in relation to nutritive value in order to promote public health, or give it's subjects power to choose and be responsible for what they eat is a debatable subject. It is the mandate of the government to ensure that the health of people in the country is up to standard. This can be achieved by enacting rules and regulations on the production and supply of food that is nutritious. For instance,it can bann companies from producing, importing and supplying genetically modified food products which pose a grave danger to peoples healthy once consumed as it can lead to conditions such as various forms of cancers. On the other,it is not possible for government to monitor the eating habbits of the public despite measures put in place. This therefore becomes the responsibility of the individuals to see to it that their nutritional status is taken care of. And can be done by eating a balanced diet, rich in vegetables, fruits and other nutrients to boost the immune system and consenquently help the body fight off infections and diseases. It is my belief that healthy living is a personal choice which can be maintained only if one decides to do so regardless of health education provided and government policies. To sum up, government and individual citizens must work together if the public health status is to be uplifted.