In some countries,more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Many people are becoming inquisitive about the past of the of their house or building in certain parts of the world. One of the reasons can be to find out whether the structure is of historic significance and such information could be acquired from various sources. Nowadays, home owners want to know if their house is of historic importance so that they decide whether to associate themselves it or not. For instance,in my home town there is a house which used be occupied by a traditional healer and within the confines of this house is tree which has not been cut for years and it is ever green, this tree is believed to hold spiritual powers that the traditional doctor used to treat his clients. Any attempts to cut it down have been unsuccessful because anyone who tried to died misteriously hence no one wants to have anything to do with it. Data concerning the past of a building or house could be obtained in various ways including exploring the home and it's vicinity for a available hints such as the design of the structure. This may indicate how old it is, for example old house structures used to be basic with one style for a particular community for uniformity while modern ones are built in different designs according to owner preference and some have luxurious interior designs with latest fittings such as walk in closets and fitted kitchen units. To sum up researching about the origin of your home might help you make an informed decision on what to do this the house in terms of alterations or altogether disassociate yourself from the property.