In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

For the last few years people faced health issues by virtue of consuming unhealthy food. According to some people it is highly important to impose a higher tax on such kinds of food to prevent the growing number of health problems. This essay agrees with such a viewpoint partially, and it will firstly discuss the effect of higher taxes on society. Then, however, the following essay will interpret the possible way to tackle this issue. For recent years, the question about imposing a tax rate for unhealthy food has been controversial and one of the common ideas is that imposing a higher tax rate will make fast food unaffordable. However, most people who consume fast food are aware of it is health consequences. For instance, recent research from the Institute of Social Science shows that people who are acquainted with health issues from fast food will not stop to consume unhealthy food even if it would be more expensive. On the other hand, it is evident that fast food contains certain ingredients which could be harmful for health and body. One critical issue is that the government should prevent the extremely growing rate of consumption of junk food and encourage society to care about their nutrition and body. For example, the authority could manage taxes and impose a lower tax rate for healthy food and higher rate for unhealthy food. To conclude, I firmly believe that a higher tax rate will not improve the situation with junk food and arising health problems from the consumption of this kind of food. In my opinion, the authorities are able to prevent the surge of health issues in society.