Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth among poorer nations by providing such things as food and education? Or is it the responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their citizens themselves? Discuss both view.

The argument over whether it is that the government of poor countries should be in the main position to take care of their citizens or wealthy nations should offer financial aids has been going for years. This essay will discuss both opinions mentioned above. On the one hand, it is ethical for rich nations to provide support to poorer countries. While people living in wealthy countries have adequate access to basic needs and have a secure life, their counterparts in poorer nations have to fight for food, education, medicines on a daily basis. Therefore, rich nations could offer support such as financial aids, food, or education to help people in poorer nations which acts as a sign of the nation with empathy and social responsibility. Moreover, such charitable support could bring rich nations self-interest when their descendants would live in a more sustainable and better world in the future. On the other hand, more than anyone else, it is the government in poor countries that should be responsible to lift their countries out of poverty. Relentless efforts to defy the odds and overcome poverty could act as a sign of perseverance and strong will, potentially becoming a role model for younger generate to follow. Simultaneously, being independent of foreign countries support could help poor nations to avoid political problems which have adverse impacts on their autonomy. For example, if a country heavily relies on financial aids from foreign nations, the government has to follow the requirements of these foreign supporters regardless of its impacts on national independence in the long run. Therefore, the government of poor nations should play an active role in assist their citizens to avoid preventable consequences for their nation. In conclusion, although the responsibilities to help innocent people in poor countries are on the shoulders of the government of these nations and wealthy countries, a heavier part should be carried by the government in such countries.