There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the International music that is heard everywhere nowadays.

Nowadays, various different kinds of music can be found around the world. There are some reasons to explain why music plays a vital role in our life. Besides, although the proliferation of international music, I am strongly believe that traditional music also is more important. There are two reasons why music is an indispensable aspect of human life. Firstly, music serves as a main source of entertainment, bringing a rush of joy for listeners. Listening to a piece of music could relieve people ’s stress and allow them to have relaxation after pressure-filled working hours, potentially avoiding stress-related diseases. Secondly, music is considered as a platform to foster social closeness. Due to the fact that music is a universal language, creating a connection between listeners who share the same interests in music taste regardless of their backgrounds, their age, etc. In short, it is difficult to imagine life without music. In my opinion, although an increasing preference towards the internation music, traditional songs still play an indispensable role in terms of cultual values. Because traditional music bears the old history, it could connect us to the past and form part of our cultural identity. For example, by listening to folk songs which are originated thousands of years ago, people could gain more understandings about the way of life of their ancestors owing to melodies, rhythms and lyrics expressed through these songs. Therefore, it would be a real pity if pop music became so predominant that these traditional songs disappeared. In conclusion, people ’s preference towards music is because it accommodates people ’s entertainment purposes and connects people together. Although people have a tendency to listen to international songs, traditional music still has a vital part to assist people in enhancing their knowledge about their own culture.