Some people believe public transport should be free of charge. Do you thing advantages are more than disadvantages?

Public transportation has become increasingly important since the population is growing and people have to slow down global warming. For this reason, many countries are choosing to make civil transport chargeless. Given increased urbanisation, traffic and population i feel that advantages in terms of environment and low vehicle expenses are outweighed by the disadvantages. Making public transport costless is advantageous for two main reasons. Firstly, the main benefit is environmental. Indeed, major cities are the biggest contributors to pollution as a result of carbon emissions from cars. Decreasing the number of motor vehicles by making public transport free could therefore lower levels of pollution in large metropolitan areas. Another point to consider is not only saving money for fuel but also salvage the costs for repairs, maintenance and so on, public transport will be much cheaper for individuals compared to owning a private car. Thus, especially if someone is on budget and need every penny, free transportation is a suitable alternative. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of a cost-free metropolitan. The fundamental is that in big cities, these systems are quite crowded, especially at rush hour. The argument goes that if it is made free this will lead to further chaos. In Tokyo, for instance, it is quite inconvenient to be stuck with a high number of people on a crowded train every morning. This may cause plenty of stress for our body and brain system and may also lead to serious health conditions in the long run. Adding to this, making free system would allow more people to use train and bus causing crowd all times and a chance for infections with diseases will be generally much higher compared to going by private cars. In fact, nowadays after the pandemic in Covid-19, health must be considered as the priority and if one is unlucky they might catch the disease or flu on their way to work or home. Hence, refraining the city transport would be preferable despite being free. To conclude, although free transportation has many merits, the drawbacks of physical and mental health are not negligible. In my view, these disadvantages outweigh the positives of the environment and personal savings.