Some people think that governments should spend public money on saving minority languages, Others, however, believe that would be a waste of public money. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some maintain that public money should be spent to preserve minority languages, while others believe that it is not important so spending money on those is unworthy. One of the main benefits of saving minority languages is the fact that they are an important part of people's cultural heritage. Minority languages are not only a way of communication but also a representative of people's development of lifestyle. People can gain more knowledge about one culture by learning their language. Another benefit is the fact that making an effort to protect minority languages also can conserve a wide variety of traditions and customs which are another way to let people gain a better understanding of different cultural heritage. However, there are some reasons why some people think spending money on this issue is a waste. Firstly, it is not an issue that governments can easily solve with public money. It is a problem that involved different lifestyles and traditional values, and thus even if governments spend enormous money on it, it may fail. Moreover, governments need high costs to make minority languages survive. Therefore, it increases the burden on taxpayers. There are more important concerns for governments to tackle, such as helping homeless people, decreasing the high unemployment rate, and preventing people from living hungry and in poverty. In my opinion, while minority languages are helpful to learn about cultural diversity, I agree that spending high costs on protecting minority languages from extinction is a waste of money. I prefer spending public money on other more severe issues.