Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, digital transformation has evolved in almost everything that we do. The advancement of information technology has provided great experiences to humans compared to the drawbacks. Firstly, most of the newly developed homes come with smart technologies which help in various chores such as electronic device controls, monitoring systems and communication devices. For instance, if someone is away from home and forgot to turn off the light, they will be able to turn it on remotely from their smartphones. In addition, they will be able to monitor continuously the status of their belongings. Connected devices provide many benefits for the consumer and it has been increasing in household demand. Secondly, the advancement of the internet has given the flexibility to learn about new hobbies or even know about the places to visit in advance, where a person will get most of the information they need just by browsing the world wide web. For instance, I followed a few videos online which taught me how to brew beers, which I believe would not have been easy without the internet. In addition, travelling has been made easy now with various digital applications that give a great experience to book a flight or accommodation. Lastly, most of the companies prefer their employees to work from home which they believe provides more flexibility thus improving productivity for the organization. This is achievable by having good infrastructures connecting the resources with the company. In addition, it gives the organizations the ability to hire skills anywhere in the world for their business growth. Nevertheless, it provides a stress-free environment for the workers where they do not need to commute daily to work. For example, my organization has been working from home during the pandemic situation and have been producing great results for the company, which was only possible because of a strong IT infrastructure. In conclusion, I believe that the digital world brings greater benefits than drawbacks thus helping the growth of the people. It evolves in every aspect of life and we will need to make sure that it is being made available equally for all.