Public celebrations (such as national days, festivals etc) are held in most countries. These are often quite expensive, and some people say that governments should spend money on more useful things. Do you agree or disagree?

Many states often spend a large amount of money in public celebrations. Some people think this is too expensive and the authorties could apply these money in more useful fields. In my opinion, I agree with it, because this is a type of waste and the funding could be used to improve peoples' life quality. The celebrations of the public is a way of waste. In order to prepare these activities, normally, the governments will recruite recruits a lot of workers and manufacturies to produce the materials that they need. This is a big amount of money that is actually from peoples' pocket——tax. For example, in Chinese national day, the government requests all cities hanging on the new national flag on the street and arrange fireworks or light performance in the evening. It is hard to count how much they invest in this celebration. Some one might argue that this is a wise way to stimulate the country's economy because many orders are sent in to factories. However, if the government share this money to every citizens, people can use the money to buy the things that they really want, and this will also boost the economy. For a country, there are many other places need to be invested that is more improtant than a celebration. Health, education, and nursing senior people are really significant to all society, but there is no many countries can totally solve these problems around the world. Even in the developed countries, no body can state that all their children can access the high quality education, and their health system is able to serve their people which is free and fast. For example, in the UK, many communties' children cannot learn in a good school, and NHS can serve the public in free but the queue is quite long sometimes. To conclude, many countries celebrate a certain anniversity which costs a lot of money. This essay agrees with the point that it is really expensive and the the government should use these wealth in some other places, because this is a terrible form of waste and social welfare actually more need investment than such celebrations do.