Meat production requires relatively more land than crop production. Some people think that as land is becoming scarce, the world’s meat consumption should be reduced. What measures could be taken to reduce the world’s meat consumption? What kinds of problem such measures cause?

According to the World Farmer’ Organization (WFO), an area of around 1,8 acre is needed to run 1 cow, therefore an average 20 acres land can only be use to run 11 cows. This is minute comparing to the 8,920 pounds of rice per harvested acre. This is one of the many reasons why people are convinced that meat production requires more land than crop productions, which had caused a worry in land loss and reform for reduced meat consumption. The world’s market relies on 1 simple principle, supply and demand. In order to have a natural reduction of meat consumption, the demand must decline unforcefully. There are many ways to achieve this such as meat reduction campaign, TV ads propaganda, scientific research which proves the harm of landloss landless. One very popular way to persuade people to reduce meat consumption are turning to vegaterian or vegan, which comes from the hope to stop animal cruelty. However, as we have seen throughout history, humans are hesitant to change a custom which they have abide to for a long time; in this case, since humans walked the planet. Because of this, more extreme measure are needed to reduce meat consumption. Legislators and reformers must come together to aid this issue, laws are the most effective way to address a problem this scale. But, using laws always come with a risk of damaging freedom. Even rights. The goverment holds no authority over what citizen eat and drink, therefore legislation affecting these rights might result in rejection, protests, even strikes. In conclusion, more scientific studies and research must be conducted to further emphasize the magnitude of landloss landless due to meat production as science is the only true meaning to persuade people in this modern age.