In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. This phenomenon is called the demographic time bomb. What do you think about this trend? What measures should be taken in order to tackle this problem?

The average age of the population is increasing, albeit slowly, in many developed countries. This is a matter of grave concern as it increases the tax burden on the government and restricts the population to work only in specific professions. This can be tackled through an efficient immigration policy that focuses on attracting young, outland working professionals and by inviting students from a foreign land to pursue higher studies in the country. To begin with, when society has more middle-aged people, the government has to incur their health expenses. In addition to that, there are several professions in which this section of the population cannot participate. With increasing age, the medical expenses shoot up proportionately and as a result, higher taxes need to be collected by the authorities to aid them in managing their finances post-retirement. Moreover, middle-aged people cannot be placed in certain jobs that require physical exertion. To illustrate, in Canada, people in their fifties are unable to take up work in the manufacturing sector. Furthermore, their finance minister is forced to frame economic policies that can collect enough taxes from others in order to take care of their post-retirement years. So, I think that the tax burden and the restriction in career choices make the demographic time bomb a negative trend. One possible way out of this predicament is to attract foreign students to pursue higher education in the country. Secondly, the immigration policy should focus on attracting young working professionals from other countries. When young adults migrate for their tertiary education, most of the time they contribute to the country’s economy by becoming working professionals post their studies. In addition to that, the immigration policy can provide free healthcare facilities to foreigners who are in their twenties in order to lure them to work there. For instance, Canada awards extra points to aspiring immigrants who are either students or in their late twenties to fulfil certain job requirements. Thus, attracting a young working force and luring students from a foreign land can resolve the issue of the demographic time bomb. To conclude, a number of developed economies have an ageing workforce. I believe this is a negative trend as it restricts them to work only in less physically demanding professions, and it further leads to an increased tax burden on the taxpayers. Nevertheless, a strong tertiary education structure attracting foreigners along with certain incentives provided to the outland, young, working professionals can help resolve this crisis.