The news media have become too much influential in people lives today and this is a negative development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Stepping into the 21st century, state-of-the-art technologies have set their foot in almost all spheres of our life. Whether the news media has enslaved or liberated people's lives nowadays has long been a subject of debate. While I agree that there are some cases that human beings are negatively affected by the coverage of wild news media, I still believe that it is a breakthrough of mankind that brings a great deal of benefits. On the one hand, it cannot be denied that owing to the development of mass news media, people can be easily informed and get up-to-date with the world. There are more people preferring online news through TVs or smartphones thanks to its convenience and gratuitousness. Furthermore, the content of social media posts can be meaningful to adolescents. With platforms like YouTube or Facebook, they can have access to people's stories knowing that they are experiencing similar struggles to their own, giving courage and confidence. On the other hand, the proliferation of news media has had profound effects on health. These negative effects include obesity, back pain or eye strain, which especially affect children. It not only causes physical but mental health. Research shows that news media consumption is associated with anxiety and depression as a consequence of seeing fake perfection of body or face images on a daily basis. However, people themselves should be in control of these activities. For instance, parents should put a limit on their children's time on TV. In short, people's lives today rely so much on news media despite some cons related to health it may bring. I have full faith in the near future when less people are harmed by the news media..