In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Should a substantial amount of money be invested in building new railway lines for speed trains among cities? Or is it more feasible to spend money on improving current public transport? It seems like a debatable issue. In this essay, I shall discuss both sides and present my own opinion. Undoubtedly, there are numerous benefits to building new railway lines. At the governmental level, the new railway lines can lead to the economy's prosperity because more citizens would choose to visit another city with fast trains. For example, when the speed trains between Chongqing, a municipality under the direct management of the Chinese central government, and Hongkong, an international hub, become available, the number of people traveling to each city has increased dramatically. Consequently, the economy becomes more active, contributing to the rapid increase of revenue, particularly tourism. However, some people consider that if money can not be spent on developing current public transport, the citizens or local dwellers might suffer more because of traffic congestion. Hence, investing money in the areas like building broad roads for automobiles or running more subways lines to encourage commuting by public transportation is more urgent. In conclusion, it is of significance to put money on the construction of new railway lines as it can encourage traveling among cities and make the local economy more dynamic. Equally important, money should also invest in improving current transport as it can improve people's satisfaction. Taking the above factors into account, I believe that investing in building new railway lines is as important as enhancing current public transport.