Many people are working longer and longer hours.what are the reasons and its effects

In the world of,modernisation it is seen fairly a routine to work for longer hours by most people.The prime reason being to combat the fast pace of modern life and to make both ends meet. However, there are detrimental effects on individuals,family and society of this. Hence, I believe there should be a balance between work and life in order to lead a peaceful and healthy life. To begin with,the primary reason why people work for long hours is to earn a handsome income so that they can provide high-quality education and healthcare to their family and self. Moreover, in this materialistic world, it's easy to get attracted to the certain things and the quench of gaining status in society also makes a person workaholic. For example, if individual aims to buy a house and need money,he will do overtime at work or even opt for part-time job apart from his regular work. Therefore, to survive in a highly competitive environment many are becoming workaholics. Nevertheless, working for longer durations will have a negative impact on individuals,family and society.A person may land up into depression and suffer other health related problems due to work pressure. Furthermore, families suffer due to a lack of time to each other and weaken or even break the relationships.What is more, children will be ignored and because of lack of attention may be involved in petty crimes and bad behavioural practices thus affecting society. In conclusion,people are working for long hours to lead a comfortable life however, this is having a detrimental effect on one's health apart from affecting family relationships and on society as well. Hence, I believe, there should be a balance between work and life.