New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

Undoubtedly, there are both positive and negative consequences of using technology by children in their leisure time. This essay tends to discuss both perspectives and I will explain why I think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Technology has provided us with innumerable benefits. Firstly, children can use the Internet in their free time to know about different countries and learn their language and culture. This will help to broaden their horizon as they will get the opportunity to experience exotic cultures. Secondly, with the help of new technologies children can make their own identity in the world of technology. For instance, nowadays we can see that very young children are achieving titles in Guinness World Records for their discoveries in computer fields. However, every good things come with some side effects. Due to excessive use of technology, children are leading a sedentary lifestyle since they are always playing computer games rather than spending time doing outdoor activities. Consequently, increasing the chances of developing obesity and  weaker eyesight. Moreover, children can become addicted by playing video games thus affecting their studies. For example, the government of South Korea banned children from playing video games after midnight as the problem was so great and the effect on education was very negative. To conclude, although there are several drawbacks of technology usage in free time, it would be unfair to ignore the benefits it has provided us with. Therefore, in my opinion, the pros far outbalanced the cons.