Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. Why do they think so? What can be done to change their views?

Due to advancements in technology, air travel has become considerably cheap, as a result, more people are travelling to foreign countries. However, many residents hold the view that increase in tourism is affecting their country negatively. This essay tends to disscuss why some inhabitants have negative attitudes towards increase in travelling and finally provide suggestions to change this view. There are several justifiable reasons why people think that international travel is a bad thing for their homeland. First and foremost, due to massive influx of tourists, local people are relocated from their locality to provide more buildings for the tourism industry. Even coastal regions and urban areas are being developed to make enough spaces for tourists. Any development involves interferance with nature thus contributing to negative impacts on the environment. For instance, in 2013 in Uttarakhand, India, there were several devastating landslides and flooding. Researchers came to the conclusion that it was a consequence of the soar in number of travellers. Secondly, more humans in an area means rapid depletion of natural resources and increase in carbon footprints. Consequently affecting the sustainability of the country. Moreover, some inhabitants fear that foreigners would bring foreign culture with them and eventually local customs and traditions would be lost. Firstly, residents should be employed in travel industry so that they can also benefit from it. If tourisim becomes their source of income then they would no longer have any objections with it. Government should educate and encourage public to welcome visitors. Government should also enlighten inhabitants with the fact that visitors can help in developing the country and in raising its economical status. Furthermore, it is an indisputable fact that exposure to cultural diversities help to broaden a person's horizon. To conclude, it is legitimate for citizens to hold grudges for foreigners due to the above mentioned reasons. Nevertheless, if they are informed about the positive impacts of tourism, I strongly believe that it should alleviate their resentment.