Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed,rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed ?

There has been changing in working culture among people nowadays and people are choosing more to self-employment instead of working for some company or organisation.There are certainly many reasons for this change which will be discussed further in detail. Change in the mindset of people for prioritising self-employment has raised due to technological advancements. With digitalisation new opportunities have risen like digital marketing, travelling and making vlogs about travel which were not able few decades back. Also, technology has changed how certain work was done in the past, for example: transport. With new machines, people like to buy their own trucks instead of working as a driver because now maintenance is easy as well as easily available as compared to 20 years ago. The way of doing payments also changed the employment scenario. With more digital credit availability, people are more Independent and can easily set up their own small businesses.With the digitalisation of finance,it is more accessible and thus helped people to become self-employed. With the advent of more self-employment, people are more independent but,, obviously there are certain repercussions also. One of the disadvantages of being self-employed is that if you are not able to work for a certain period of time,you have a higher chance of losing your money. Also, during losses it directly impacts the person who owns a certain business and may lead to financial instability. With self-employment,comes greater responsibility like paying salaries of employees,maintaining records,analysing finances and planning for future opportunities as markets and demands of products changes with time and if the product is not according to markets needs,business or products may fail. It is obvious that many people are choosing self-employment over working for a company or organisation although few points should be kept in mind to ensure stability.