The amount of drinkable water for people is decreasing. Why is this? What can be done?

Nowadays, people are encountering a serious threat which is the reduction in the amount of drinkable water on earth. Some causes of this arising phenomenon as well as some solutions will be provided in the following paragraphs. To begin with, it can be said that there are two main contributors to this issue, which are pollution and global warming. When big factories dump their refuse in clean water sources, they consequently become contaminated. China, for the instance, suffers from high levels of water pollution due to the industrial processes that take place in the country. Moreover, the rise in the world temperature affects areas that contain clean water such as glaciers and ice caps. Thus, impeding those issues will help mitigate the issue of water scarcity. In addition, this problem might be solved through introducing strict legislations and promoting environmental awareness among people. If authorities enact policies that deter big corporations from misusing natural resources, especially water, this will immensely help to conserve fresh water. An eminent example is Norway which imposed huge penalties on companies that threw their toxic waste in rivers and oceans. Another solution is to inform the general population about the negative effects of wasting water by using mass media or launching awareness campaigns. This demonstrates that the key to solve that problem is to have a firm set of rules regarding environment protection and an enlightened public. In conclusion, what can be said is that any plan to tackle the upcoming issue of water shortages will not be applicable without a collective effort from both governments and people.