Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is true that some languages tend to disappear forever. Some people would argue that investing in the program of saving these languages would benefit our society, and I do agree with this point of view. There are some benefits to saving minor languages. Firstly, it would protect various cultures from extinction. Languages play an important role and function in transmitting cultures. We could keep a culture alive in the way of encouraging more students to learn the language. For example, people who pick up Cantonese have access to more real and vivid life in Hongkong. Secondly, teenagers would be beneficial from saving these languages. Young people are more likely to acquire different ways of thinking through learning more different languages. For example, the government of Singapore requires young students to master both English and Mandarin, and in this way citizens are much more competitive when they applyfor a position in this fierce job market. Some opponents would argue that the budget of governments could go on other fields. Spending money on the protection of the extinctive language would be too slow to see the improvement in one generation. However, many more urgent public areas like medical, public infrastructure are worth being invested in. For example, if countries invest more money in recycling rather than these languages, the problem of climate change could be tackled in a faster way. The taxpayer could live a better quality of life. In conclusion, several languages are dangerous in terms of extinction. It is true that giving financial support to other public services could benefit us immediately, while we do need to spare no effort to protect the language from losing as soon as possible.