In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for it. The government or the family?

Ageing is a natural phenomenon. In Britain, as the individual gets old, they usually go to spend their further life in a home accompanying old people. Moreover, health professionals are there to look after them. People are divided on the issue that who would pay for this care. On the whole, I do believe that family should pay for it but Government's here is also not to be neglected which would be discussed in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence with, the grey population is increasing day by day. As with advancements in technology and medical facilities, people are living longer than before. Therefore, they need a special kind of care during this time which requires a lot of expenditure. There are ample reasons to justify that family should pay for this care as first and foremost, it is way easier to take responsibility for one person expenses as compared to 1000 ones. As families can easily pay the cost for all the care that has to be done. But, it would be a huge burden on the Government if we ask them to pay. Therefore, they have to arrange special funds to meet the needs of the grey population while ignoring the majority of people's concerns. To illustrate it, a survey was conducted in 2018, it stated that Government's total expenditure would be 3 million dollars to take care of old people. Instead of, this amount can be utilized to make 1000 educational institutes in the country. In addition to it, one can get the facilities according to their status. If anyone wants extra careful, they can easily get it by paying more. On the other hand, every citizen is the Government's responsibility. People paying taxes for all long their life to get good medical assistant and care during their retirement days and moreover, it would not be possible for everyone to pay for their care. For example, more than 75 per cent of families are under-privileged to pay for something extra. In a nutshell, there is some kind of truth in both opinions. Although every citizen's care is Government's first priority It would not be wrong to say that individuals can take care of elderly members of their family better than anyone else.