The best way to solve the world's environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Fuel is the most essential resource in our modern society. For example, Coal and natural gas fire up power plants and light up billions of homes across the world, petrol and kerosene ignite car engines to connect people in an unimaginable way we could never think of. However, some say that increasing the prices of fuel would help solve global environmental issues, but the disruptions to our lives might be a huge drawback that we can never afford. There are several reasons, government incentives to clean renewable energy is the best way to replace traditional fuel. This is crucial to reduce greenhouse gases emission because the prices of green energy are still higher than fossil fuel in many places like the oil exporters like Saudi Arabia and Russia. For instance, even Australia has to offer subsidies to homes to set up solar panels on rooftops. Hence, as green energy is the best and only alternative to burning the polluting ancient rocks, yet more expensive, the only way to promote that is through subsidies. However, some might say that even though we increase the prices of traditional fuel, it will be the same result. From the glimpse of human history, the Kyoto Protocol, a global agreement of reducing greenhouse gases emission, can never be enforced in different countries because of their own interests. With the same logic, if every global leader sat together, they would not agree on increasing the prices of fuel collaboratively. The oil exporting countries will be furious because of the decrease in export. The under-developed countries will suffer even more because they need fossil fuel to power their countries, but they do not have the capital to buy even more expensive raw material, even likely not having the technology to develop large scale clean energy projects. These countries will never say yes, so it will be impossible to reach a global agreement. To sum up, increasing the prices of fuel will never be successful internationally. Thus, the only best way to reduce greenhouse gases emission is through individual government incentives and subsidies to green energy.