Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

Language is fundamental medium of communication. A person needs to learn the regional language to communicate with native inhabitants. Survival without speaking the local language is very difficult as majority of the population is unilingual. Most countries in the world have their own language. Learning a new language is a tedious task for adults. However, when an indiviual lives in a foreign country it is advised to learn the official language as it aides in effective communication with people. A practical problem is that the locals do not speak multiple languages which necessitates that the foreign indiviual learns the local tongue so that he can communicate his needs and requirement of assistance in any situation. For eg. My grandmother, who does not speak much English, had travelled to Singapore for a few days. While exploring the city, she was unable to find her way back to the hotel. Her inability to communicate effectively in English put her in a spot as she found it very difficult to ask for help. In the end, it all boiled down to good old handgestures hand-gestures. Had she known English she would have been able to ask for directions relatively easily. Locals always communicate among themselves in their native tongue. For an outsider to blend into the local groups and make friends its is important to understand and speak their language. This ability helps an indiviual individuals to expand their social circle wider. A person without the basic knowledge of the native tongue will feel isolated which may lead to mental health issues like depression, social anxiety,etc. For instance, my friend migrated from state of Jammu and Kashmir, where Kashmiri is the main language, to Maharashtra with Marathi as the native language. Naturally, she found it difficult to fit in but over time when she learnt Marathi she found it very easy to socialise with everyone on campus. To conclude, even though it is difficult to learn a new language, to avoid daily life and social problems the immigrant should make an effort to learn the language