Nowadays, many people have to work longer hours, and they feel more stressed out than before. What are the reasons? What can employers do to make life easier?

It is an irrefutable fact that in today's time, extended work hours have resulted in acute stress amongst individuals than earlier. This essay shall potray some of the causes of this phenomenon and also suggest some measures that organization can adopt to overcome it. To begin with, these days companies strive hard to maintain their brand value at marketplace. As a result, unrealistic deadlines are enforced on people at work. This may not only cause excessive workload but also extra pressure on a person trying to meet these timelines. Following this, cut-throat competition is the dominant cause of stress at workstations. Moreover, employees compete amongst themselves to achieve good appraisal and increased hike. To do so, they indulge in extra firm initiatives to showcase their productivity infront of the higher management. Inorder to achieve this, many work over the weekends and in double shifts to meet their targets. Studies suggest 90% of the men are distressed at workstations. On the other hand, employers can take few steps to reduce stress among the wage earners. Firstly, work burden should be reduced by evenly distributing tasks among the team members. Due to this, one might not feel overly pressurised or overburdened. Secondly, well-being programs should be conducted and factories should also encourage workmen to take some time-off from work and avail their leave entitlements. To sum up, stress caused due to prolong Change the form of the verb prolonged show examples work hours is of great concern. However, employers can combat it by maintaining work-life balance and reducing workload.