Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that social media is becoming increasingly popular among all generations. Moreover some people share their private information on the internet. There are those who say that its benefits outweigh its drawbacks. In my opinion, I think that there are more advantages than disadvantage. On the one hand, social media helped lots of people to meet people from different countries and understand different cultures. This means that people can learn new languages or meet new friends. For example, there are some website you can use to talk with native speakers to improve any language you are learning. Another point in favour of this is that, people can communicate with their family and friends at a very fast speed what is more is that they can share their daily life or post on social networks like Instagram, and facebook. Therefore, social media helped lots of people to stay in contact with their friends and family who are thousand of miles apart. On the other hand, however, there are some definite drawbacks of social media.The worst of which is the fact that your personal information can be exposed which has a really negative impact on your privacy this is because once you share your current location some people can track you and hurt you easily. For instance, there are number of women who reported for criminal harassment because they shared their location on social media apps so it made it easier for stalkers to find a victim. In conclusion, although there are clearly equally valid arguments for and against the use of social media. I, personally feel that on balance, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages because everyone should be aware of sharing their personal information on the internet because you can put yourself in danger if you did not use it safely.