Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that the subject of science and technology should be prioritized than history in schools presently. I will discuss both ideas and give my opinion in this essay. Firstly, on one side of the argument, some individuals think history is one of the most important subjects to be taught in schools. Students ought to know their historical background which is paid less attention to in the society today. That is, the new age of information focuses on the latest trends things and how it relates to the future and parents also don’t tell their children about history at home hence this subject matter should take preference in schools so historical heritage will not die out. For example, in Garbon, history is one of the subjects pupils should compulsorily pass in their A level results before going into the university. That goes a long way to make schools prioritize the subject for its students. On the second side of the argument, I think science and technology are more important subjects to our society today than history. The world is moving into a technological era and thus, students should be shaped accordingly. This is because, almost everything we use these days, even to teach, are made using technology and so prioritizing history over science will do no good to our present environment. For instance, China which is the worlds most fastest growing technology today prioritize science and technology in all their educational institutions, pupils are exposed to it at a very young age and this develops their minds in that direction and of course the results are clear in their technological advancement. To conclude, I think the world will be better if more is put to place in teaching science and technology more in schools rather than history.