People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals and people around them?

Sleep is inevitable for healthy human life. Researches reveal that a minimum of seven hours sleep is required for the efficient working of human brain. However, over the past few years there is a gradual decrease in the duration of sleep among various people and I will delve into some of the reasons for this and the problems associated with this behaviour through the following paragraphs. In this materialistic world, people have been greedier than in the previous era. So, they work overtime trying to earn more than they actually need to survive. I have seen many people who already receive enough salary, working in the nights as cab drivers to earn extra income. However, there are certain human beings who are sole earners of their family doing two or three jobs extending to night so that they can support their family. Apart from this, employees working at multinational companies especially information technology and call centre wings, various hospital staffs like doctors nurses and paramedicals paramedical undergo mandatory night and rotational shifts as a part of their job routine causing a decline in the amount of sleep that they should get. On the other hand, scientists have concluded that improper and discontinuous sleep causes a plethora of health problems within human body. Starting from fatigue and lethargy, it may even lead to Alzheimer’s disease. Moreover, loss of appetite, frequent headaches, cardiovascular diseases, obesity, insomnia, mood swings and depression are another set of consequences due to sleep deficiency. In conclusion, it can be observed that there is an exponential decrease in the amount of sleep that people have during the last few years due to their work culture and greediness for money. A proper work cycle and awareness among them will be a solution to tackle this, as improper sleep causes a wide variety of health issues.