Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different viewpoints about how better is to react to divers who do not respect the rules. While some believe that they should be punished harshly, others think other ways would be taken into consideration. I would agree with the latter opinion. On the one hand, some people are keen to think that extreme punishment and its consequence are the best treats toward the offences. This is because most individuals do not want to be restricted by the rules, and therefore, they will attempt to find alternative ways to break them again. For instance, if the police stop the drivers who do not care about the permitted speed, next times these people will use more mobile applications to warn them about the presence of the police. As a result, these prohibitive manners would not prevent or reduce the number of consequent accidents. However, I believe that in order to reduce the number of accidents that resulted from neglecting rules, it is better to get involved in other methods so that individuals could not ignore them. For an illustration, governments can link the histories of driver’s errors to their social credit so that whenever they want to use public services, they will need to provide their credit. As a consequence, if they ignored the rules, they could not receive some social services such as mortgage loans, buying assets etc. In conclusion, although restricting drivers by punishment can slightly reduce the number of crashed cars, I believe other methods like capturing drivers errors in their social credit would be more effective than penalizing them.