Tourism has increased so much over the last 50years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and the disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

It is constantly discussed in society the positive and negatives aspects of tourism to local residents ecosystem and economy. The paragraphs below will discuss both points of view and, then, give my own perspective. To begin with, there are two possible advantages of encouraging tourism in places. First of all, it foments local market, increasing purchase value of merchandises and, consequently, improve companies' income. For instance, tapioca is a tradicional Brazilian food and affordable to buy in supermakets. However, its value augments in touristic hotspots. Another motive to explain the government investiments investment to amplify tourism is the incentive for enterprises to renovate and modernize their structures, thus, justifying the price readjustment. In stark contrast, some drawbacks are also noticed with the increased touristic movement. A well known outcome discussed among urbanists is the gentrification process. More specifically, local natives whose wages are not enough to follow the readjusted prices are forced to move out of these centres to live in farther venues, giving place to those ones that can afford paying for it, which is unfair. Moreover, another problem caused from tourists visiting is the environmental damage. As a consequence of companies production and individual's consuming, more trash is produced proporcionally proportional, which combined with an improper destination, accumulates in the ecossytem. To conclude, tourism have its merits and demerits. Although, in my opinion, a balance should be aimed and reached to control local prices, environment damage and encourage visiting by foreigners. Thus, natives would still keep their households well located and be able to profit with it.