In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation.

Traffic congestion is elevating at an alarming rate not only in developing nations but also in developed countries too. To curb the problem, some people suggest that private car owners should be imposed heavy taxes and allocated money from such sources can be utilised to modify public transit. This essay will make an attempt to highlight its advantages before outlined the disadvantages. To begin with, the privilege of higher income, nowadays, many folks own private cars; consequentially, numerous automobiles are running on roads and create traffic jams. The first advantage of this is that people who drive automobiles just for fun could be discouraged to some extent; they might start using other commuters or start walking for errands instead of running their vehicles on roads. Secondly, air pollution-related health issues can be resolved if this trend would come into existence; cars are powered by burning fuels and the emission of harmful and toxic gases into the atmosphere inflates global warming on mother earth. To illustrate, almost 3 million automobiles are playing on the roads of metropolitan daily, if only one- third of them are taken off, the tons of harmful gases could be prevented from entering into the atmosphere. Admittedly, it is like a drop in the ocean, but collective efforts could make a remarkable change. The prime disadvantage of this is that it would be unhealthy for automobiles companies and they might have to face great loss on account of this. In addition, the authorities can find alternatives to combat the problem like better road infrastructure, flexible and modern public transportation systems, an invention of automobiles that would run on clean energy, and the most important is to implement strict road regulations could be contributors to limit the congestion hindrance. To conclude then, the disadvantage would be higher as private cars are safer, convenient and offer flexibility to the users; higher taxes could affect automobiles ' production. The collective attempts could make the environment more clean and safe.