Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’ How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

It is undeniable that many big cities in the world are facing the traffic congestion issue which caused by the increase in car ownership, nowadays. From my point of view, I think that the traffic jam issue is caused by many reasons, and the state governments should provide some policies or measures to reduce using individual cars. In the following paragraph, the reasons to support my opinion will be outlined in the detail. I think that this statement is a dramatic true because many people in modern society believe that people who have their own cars are more successful in life than those who do not have cars. Additionally, they said that everyone in big city must have their own cars for comfort. For example, many families in Bangkok cities, Thailand, often have at least 2 cars, one of the fathers and another one of the mothers, for comfort. If someone in their family has an emergency that must use a car, they will not have to wait for another person. To solve the traffic jam problem, the state government in each country should provide some policies and encourage people to reduce using private cars. For instance, they should decrease the public transport fare to make it accessible for everybody, firstly. Secondly, they should build more bike roads and encourage people to use bicycles. Furthermore, the leadership should improve the quality of the public transportation such as being on time of buses and trains. In conclusion, I strongly think that the traffic congestion issue at the present in the result of human activities, like excessive use of personal vehicles. Although car ownership is a significant problem that causes the traffic jam issue, there are often problems as well. Therefore, it is recommended that both the government and individuals should take serious actions on this problem.