QUESTION: Many manufactured food and drinks products contain high levels of sugar which is causes many healthy problems. Sugary products should be more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

The major ingredient in most refined foods and drinks is sugar, a leading cause of various health issues. The effective solution to reduce the amount being consumed is to enact policies on healthy alternatives to it rather than increasing the commodity price. Making sugary products expensive will not stop customers from eating more because they always find a way to satisfy their cravings. A person would choose to cut down on the expense of a healthier feed so as to purchase the sugary one, meaning a high of the product can not necessarily counteract the huge amounts being eaten. Since sugar is fundamental to the functional properties of many food products, measures to encourage substitution of manufactured snacks and sips with fresh, non-manufactured ones without added sugars maybe needed. This is vital if sugar intake goals are to be attained. In addition, rules and regulations that reduce demand for sugar such as helping children develop healthy taste preferences at an early age will reinforce the progressive producers and retailers to grow the market for less sugary foods and drinks. Furthermore, health awareness of the impact of excessive carbohydrate uptake can aid citizens make right decisions. For example, teaching people that too much consuming of carbohydrates, especially in form of sweetened drinks heightens the risk of developing diabetes and cardiovascular disease can lead to a decline in the ingestion of such products. In conclusion, raising the cost of sugary groceries will have less effect on the rate it is currently eaten compared to formulating rules to govern the quantity producers add, like the reformulation of breakfast cereals and other foods being pursued by the French government since 2008.