The government should ban smoking in all public places, even though this would restrict some other people's freedoms. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer.

In most cases, people who smoke tend to do it in any public space available. Even though banning of smoking in these areas limits freedoms of others, I do believe that the government should ban for two reasons: health and environmental concerns. One of the first reasons why smoking should be restricted is that it affects not only the health of individual smokers but also people within that surrounding. There are so many diseases associated with smoking habits. Innocent people who inhale smoke might end up being sick, for example, they could be affected by heart diseases and cancer. In addition to health problems, it will also cause environmental issues. Besides air pollution, this habit of smoking in public areas causes land pollution, hence making these places not so nice for relaxing or hanging out with friends and family. Most smokers tend not to take care of the environment, so they throw away leftovers in the wrong places. I do not, however, disagree with the statement because public spaces like squares, parks, and arboretums are supposed to be where people or residents within a particular city, town, or neighbourhood spend their free time. They can participate in various recreational activities, for instance, playing soccer, jogging or running. Therefore, these places should be protected at all cost. In summary, smoking should be severely restricted in public areas because it poses risk to the health of people and pollute the environment. In fact, offenders should be punished or fined by responsible authorities when they are found guilty.