Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

One of the biggest sources of environmental pollution is the motor vehicles. Cycling is an environment-friendly transport form; however, it is not popular in lots of places. This essay will discuss some reasons and solutions for the issue. There are some reasons for the minority of cycling in some places. Firstly, cycling is not a convenient way for travelling long distances. It is hard to convince people to go to work by bike if they live far from their workplace, especially in the tropical zone, where the weather is too hot. Secondly, bikers don't have their own lane in many countries. This means bikes and cars share the route, which can lead to dangers for bikers. There are some methods to increase the popularity of cycling. To begin with, the governments could encourage people to use bikes by giving them extra rewards. For example, if employees go to work by bike, they will get higher salaries or more off days. Secondly, governments should build bicycle tracks separately from car roads to guarantee the safety of bikers. The bicycle tracks could also be decorated with beautiful plants to attract more people to go cycling. In conclusion, far distance and shared roads were some reasons for the unpopularity of cycling. This could be solved by some methods like giving rewards for cycling and constructing more bicycle tracks.