In some countries, government are encouraging industries and businesses to move to regional areas outside the big cities. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Globally, many governments are incentivising their industrialists to move their bases to smaller towns. Some of the key benefits of doing this include reduced labour cost, as well as the availability of land at a lesser price. However, the lack of infrastructure and the people not being skilled in smaller towns more than nullify the gains achieved of making such a move. To begin with, one of the key advantages of shifting industries to regional areas is the reduction in employee cost. Secondly, a piece of land costs much less in a village when compared to a metro city. Organisations can make their businesses more profitable by capitalising on the lower employee expenses in rural areas. Similarly, their overhead expenses also reduce as the price per square feet of a land in a village is extremely less. For example, Tata motors shifted its manufacturing facility to Singur, a small town in Gujarat, from Jamshedpur citing more benefits of reduction in cost of labour and land. However, one major drawback is that regional areas do not have world-class infrastructure that is required to support the production operations. In addition to that, the people employed might not possess the required skillset to perform their jobs efficiently. Warehousing and last -mile connectivity are some of the key facilities which the villages lack for running any business. Furthermore, people being employed might not possess the educational credentials that are required of them to succeed in their jobs. To illustrate, once Tata moved its manufacturing facility to Singur, it had a hard time finding skilled labour. Moreover, they had to incur additional expenses for setting up warehouses. Therefore, in my opinion, shifting factories to remote locations has more drawbacks than benefits because of the inefficient infrastructure support and the paucity of skilled labour. To conclude, in many countries, the ruling part is encouraging their industrialists to shift their production bases to suburban areas. Reduction in cost of labour and land are the key advantages of making such a move. Nevertheless, I strongly feel that by doing so, companies miss out on the state-of-the art infrastructure and do not get the skilled employees that they need for running a factory, and as a result, these drawbacks far outweigh the gains achieved.