Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

University plays a key role in an individual's life as it is a turning point to select the career choices moving forward. While some people have a point of view that the graduate students should study only subjects such as science and technology which is useful in the upcoming decade, however, I, believe that they should attend the choice of the course they like. Firstly, some people argue that since technology and science are evolving very rapidly, their usage is dominant in the future. The undergraduate aspirants should focus only on these subjects as they have a good market value in the upcoming years. After,graduation there are fewer employment opportunities available for subjects different from science such as art and music. To illustrate, the students who have majored in the music and art struggles to find job vacancies as even those job requires technical knowledge of the software. Therefore, since science -related subjects have more demand in the future, university students should only be allowed to attend courses that include curricula related to science. On the other hand, I believe that students should study the stream they are passionate about and interested in. This enables them to complete the course without any hesitation and feeling bored furthermore, if any subject is forced on to the student, it only leads to low scores or poor performance in the semester's exam. For example, many adolescents in India have been forced to study engineering as it provides placement and job guarantees after graduation however, the vast majority of the students failed to complete the course as they were not interested in them in the first place. In my opinion, if students have been given an opportunity to select the stream according to their interests, they will be more successful in the future. To conclude, although science and technology have more demand and the future looks bright for them, students shouldn't have limited choices only to these subjects. Therefore, on balance, I believe that graduate students should be given the freedom to study whatever they like.